Is there a future for scientific journals and publications ?

In my previous job, I also covered library services.  This included online searches, notifications on scientific data sources;  and journal subscriptions.  Several known KM journals were on my list. 

Since I am home, I haven’t read a single journal … and I don’t feel I miss something.  Currently, I read blogs and I find this a much better way to keep informed.  My blog list (with 95 blogs) acts as my social filter with people I know / trust. 

In Google Reader, there is a search function which searches all the blogs I subscribe to.  Now my blog list has become a very powerful personal knowledge management tool. 

Why should I pay for a journal subscription ??

One response to “Is there a future for scientific journals and publications ?

  1. When it comes to following general news, what’s can be more relaxing than reading a (traditional) newspaper in your most comfortable chair. Isn’t it leading to anti-social behaviour to ‘dive’ behind a computer screen at home?
     
    SVN

Leave a Reply

