On the use of technology

This is a wonderfull video, on how we learn new technologies.

I picked it up from Joitske’s blog.

It shows how a new technology (a book) was introduced and how the users ask helpdesk (!!) how to use it.
And indeed, helpdesk demonstrates how to open and read a book. 

But not how to use a book to transfer knowledge (manuals and cook books), imagination (novels), beauty (poetry), memories (photo books), …

Looking at my previous job, this is exactly what I was doing : coaching people to use technology to maintain knowledge.
And I think this is what I would like to continue to do in some form in the future. 
I guess Steven Warmoes would call it a ‘Deep smart‘.

Leave a Reply

