Best practices

This post by Arjun Thomas (http://arjunthomas.com/?p=70) made me think of how I deal with best practices.
I like to cook, (http://marnixcatteeuw.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!B9C4E02838429A32!120.entry)  and since my family likes me to cook, I usually do.
Firstly I buy some ingredients (usually a lot).  Then I look for recipes.  Finally I prepare dinner.
The best recipes go into my personal cookbook (it’s hand written to make it more stylish). 
This is my collection of best practices, which I consult regularly.  I will never copy a recipe exactly.  They are my source of inspiration.
In knowledge management terminology, it means that I do not adopt the best practice of the past, but I adapt them to the present before applying.
This adaption is crucial, since the present is not the same as the past … I rarely have exactly the same ingredients in the fridge …

Leave a Reply

