When do I do Knowledge Management ?

On two occasions this week I was invited to give a case study on knowledge management in practice in our company.
In our application we are focusing on a geographically spread group of technical operations managers, mainly engineers.
Their need is document management and an integrated tool for enhanced collaboration.  So that is where my focus is, and not on SNA, blogs, story telling, … We are not in the KM2.0 area yet.
When explaining this, I got the remark that that is not knowledge management, and what I should do to make it knowledge management.
 
During a normal working day, I sometimes do document managment, sometimes information management, sometimes business process reengineering, sometimes IT helpdesk, …
but when do I do knowledge management ??
 
I don’t have (don’t need) an exact definition of information and knowledge.
I just do what is needed to help these people find more easily the relevant information and the relevant people, the have the best available knowledge to make a decision.
We call this knowledge management.
Leave a Reply

